A Trip Down the Rickety Stairway…

I’ve had to delay my series of self-tutorials on data mining for a few weeks following an antibiotic resistant infection that almost put me in the hospital for the holidays, plus some unexpected performance problems with Analysis Services. I’ve had my next two posts on the Naive Bayes and Linear Regression algorithms almost ready to go for a few days, but will have to put off posting them for at least a couple more days. I guess you could say my adventure into data mining has been interrupted by a couple of cave-ins, but hopefully I’ll be dug out before the holidays are done. It’s been a good learning experience, however, so I’ll be posting on the pitfalls I ran into so that others don’t repeat them. If all goes according to plan, I’ll see you back here by New Year’s for the next installment.

About Stevan Bolton

I am a VB programmer and SQL Server DBA with an interest in MDX and multidimensional applications. I have an alphabet's soup of certifications: * 3 MCTS certifications in SQL Server 2008 R2, including a recent exam in MDX and Analysis Services * an MCDBA in SQL Server 2000 * an MCSD in VB6. I've kept up with each version of VB since then but haven't taken the newer exams * I also have a Master's in American history with a concentration in foreign affairs, as well as some work towards a doctorate in Latin American history * My B.S. is in print journalism I'll be posting whatever code I can to help out the SQL Server and VB developer communities. There is always someone out there more knowledgeable, so if you're a guru, feel free to correct any information I might post. I haven't yet been paid professionally to work with some of the technologies I've been trained in and enjoy, like MDX, so the word of those who have ought to carry more weight. There's a shortage of information on some of the topics I'll be posting on, such as the arcane error messages in Analysis Services (SSAS), so users might still find some value in my posts. If you learn of any job openings for MDX, SSAS, SQL Server and VB, feel free to E-mail me.

Posted on December 24, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

